X axis problems - smooth on left, rough on right

(Sandi Laveault) #1

Machine: _ Chinese 60 watt CO2. It came with an M2 Nano board.

Board: Cohesion 3D Laserboard

Firmware: GRBL

Problem/ Question: First, a little background, I am new to lasers. I have only been working with this one for a couple months. I never did use it with the original M2Nano. I was having problems, and was recommended the cohesion 3d laser board from someone in a FB group that got me set up with the board and with Lightburn. So when my laser was running and the head movement was sounding a little rough, I thought that was normal, I had nothing to compare it to. It was getting the job done, and doing a nice job, I wasn’t that concerned. But then it started jamming…

My laser head is “jamming” along the x-axis, but only if it’s working along the middle to right hand side of the work area. If I have a small job that is only using about 4" to 5" of the left hand side of the work area, it runs so smooth. Here is what I have done/discovered so far:

1. The laser head travels very smoothly when I home it from the opposite side of the work area or if I use the laser move buttons or use the “google maps” icon to move it around the board. It runs so smooth no matter where.

2. I tried burning items in 3 spots. Along the left side of the board, it runs very smooth. In the middle, it gets rough and sometimes skips/slides. Along the right hand side is very rough and definitely slips/jams. See my youtube video links below.

1. I tried changing what it was I was burning. On the right hand side where it is at its worse, I made a simple rectangle covering that area, and it scanned through the simple rectangle without issue. Text on the other hand, will “stick” and “jam” it up.

2. I have tried different speeds from 200mm/sec to 350mm/sec, and no change from above.

3. When I manually move the laser head back and forth along the x axis (and the y), it moves very smoothly.