Stepper driver compatibility C3D Mini

Hi I have a 3d printer which is not used anymore and I need new stepper driver for my cohesion3d mini, as I want to add a rotary device.
So my first thought was using the 3d printer’s drivers, as they look similar (both are A4988)
Question is: can I install any A4988 driver?
Or what else should I look for in a stepper driver?

The A4988 stepper drivers will work fine in the Mini as long as you are using NEMA17 stepper motors.

(For larger stepper motors we’d recommend external stepper drivers.)

Thanks, Pete.
Yes, I’ll be using a NEMA17 for the rotary device.
In fact I was thinking on adding a stepper driver, as a first step to replace all drivers and move them out of the board.
I could start with this axis, as I’ve never done this before… or I could just get the A4988 and go straight to it… :-/
Thank you for you help!

Hi Eduardo, here is what we would recommend if you want to add a rotary device or Z table using an external stepper driver with a C2D Mini. (Note I am basing this recommendation on the support email you sent using the contact form.)

We would also recommend that if you are not already using a high quality external power supply to power the C3D Mini that you get a second power supply just for that. (The LPSU for the K40 does not supply adequate power for both the laser and the C3D Mini.)

Finally, here are instructions for wiring a Z Table and Rotary to a C3D Mini board:

Thank you!
In fact I was looking fot a 24V power supply, but was expecting something similar to the one showed in the instructions you link. (what a great document!) as it’s easier to wire it .
But please, help me claryfy this:
Should I use the “Mini Power Supply” to power the board and then an industrial 24v PSU to power all the motors? Or may I use a single PSU fot both things?