Machine to run Blue Diode Laser and CNC

Custom machine to be build from scratch

I just picked up a 3 axis older inspection machine. It was converted to a CNC 15 watt blue diode laser. Since this machine is really stout, what I would like to do it make it into a combo Laser engraver with the blue diode and CNC machine for soft metals and wood. I would love to use the C3D board since I like how it interfaces with lightburn and has proper PWM control at good speeds. I have the following questions.

1. I assume I can run a PWM output to the Blue Diode Laser to get true grayscale engraving using
    lightburn. Is this a true statement?

2. I am totally in the dark in terms of what to do for the router control. I am new to this realm. I assume
    that features I need for running router control are as follows:
    a. Can I do bed leveling compensation with the C3D?
    b. Can I have it stop for tool changes?
    c. Can I run a Spindle on/off as well as spindle speed control from the C3D?
    d. Please list any other features I might be looking for?

3. I am running Fusion 360 for mechanical design. I see there is not a gcode post processor specifically
    for C3D but it seems there is a smoothie post processor. Will this work for the C3D?

4. If I have an STL file that I want to cut using the C3D, what software would I need to create the
    toolpathing and get true 3D engraving(not 2-1/2d)

Mainly, my concern is running a router and a laser from the C3D board and having success with both. I am looking for the best option in terms of hardware and software to be able to accomplish this.

Thanks in advance for your support

Dave

It’s going to be pretty difficult to get this doing double-duty for that application.