K40 Upgraded board to Cohesion, Y axis is not moving and not homing

Machine: K40

Board: Cohesion

Firmware: Smoothie

Problem/ Question: I installed the new board. However it laser only goes left and right. It does not move forward or backwards and i am not sure why. I am new to this and lost as to why it is not moving. When I originally set it up i had placed the pin into the X spot on the board. It was moving forward and back but was struggling to move left and right. I am able to move both with my hands. Once i looked back at the installation of the board I realized i had it in the wrong spot and should have been in the Y. But since correcting that it does not move forward and back, just left and right. I will be attaching photos in a bit for the set up.

Tried to upload photos but it says new users cant upload images

Hi Dayna,

Welcome to the forum!

I have upgraded your trust level so that you can now upload pictures. The photos we need to see will be of the machine, board, other electrical components, and wiring.

1 Like

Thank you! Uploading momentarily

@Starla

you didn’t happen to have the board powered up when you moved that stepper cable?

Hi Dayna,

Thank you for the photos.

First, let’s check your Device Origin and confirm that you have it set to the front left.

Put the head in center of your machine. Use the move buttons in LightBurn to jog left, right, up (moves the head toward the rear of the machine), and down (moves the head towards the front of the machine). What happens if you hit the “Home” button? If you can, post a video to YouTube and share the link here with the results.

@Starla so I dont know what changed but its moving now. But when I did the homing it went to the back left corner. When I hit got to origin it goes to the front left corner.

this is more than likely correct. switches are in the top left. origin aka 0,0 is bottom left.

Machine: K40

Board: cohesion

Firmware: smoothie

Problem/ Question: well 2 issues