Faulty Reset Switch

+Just installed my new 3D Mini replacement for my K40 Nano controller.
Unit does come up but is randomly resetting and losing computer connection. Looks like the RESET switch is bad on the board. The PLAY button has a nice “click” on push but the RESET does not push in and is loose. RESET does not “click” . If I jiggle it, the unit boots and will stay on at times, but when the motors move it resets again.
I am a long time Engineer and certified solder tech. If you can just send me the switch, I will gladly replace the bad one. I would already have done that but I do not have any of the right-angles switches. I have some orders to get out so thought this would be a quick swap ad setup. Please send switch or we can swap boards, as fast as possible. If it will take more that a few days, week, to arrive, I I may pull the switch and mount an external one unit the correct one arrives.

Regards,
Don Loocke

Hi Don,

Welcome to the forum! I’m checking on possible alternatives for your C3D LaserBoard and will get back with you soon.

1 Like

First, we should confirm the cause of the “randomly resetting and losing computer connection” before we go tearing into the board, as this can be caused by many things.

I would recommend grabbing a multimeter in continuity mode and metering the 2 pins from the reset switch on the bottom of the board to see if there is continuity even when the switch is not pressed.

It may help you to visualize that we want the 2 top pins here, as the lower ones are just part of the mounting body.

There is also a header directly behind the switch so that you can hook up a “big red button” in its place - you can also meter these to see if there are the same behaviours here.

Please let us know what you find so that we can advise on next steps.

I have done all of that and more.