Dialing in the low end for engraving

Machine: K40 Nano M2
Board: LaserBoard
Firmware: I have a new board and I’m using whatever it came with
Software: Lightburn - gcode version
Problem/ Question:

Hi Forum,
First many thanks for such a great resource. I sincerely appreciate all of the contributors. I will advise that I am a complete noob, having just stood up this machine about a month ago, having spent every weekend and many evenings with it, and enjoying every minute spent.

I’m interested in dialing in my machine a bit for engraving; birch and acrylic mostly and I use a lot of chipboard for test runs. I’ve been surfing and reading many posts, running several tests (ramp test, standard testers), and am happy to provide additional info as needed.

I realize settings will change based on media and machine, but I’ve noticed some oddities with my K40 for which I’d like some advice/direction.

Here’s my machine, so you know which K40 variant I have

Power, enable, and test buttons and most importantly, ammeter.

And my laserboard; ribbon cable on the y-axis variant.

I noticed that my “engravings” using greyscale were not offering much variance, somewhat akin to what I found in this post, with similar results on both clear acrylic and chipboard.

After reading that post I did a few things.

First, checked the response to %s of the power setting

1. Set the pot to 10mA. (test fired to home in on 10mA)
  2. Via Lightburn, entered GRBL commands to set to mm, pick a spot, cut a 10mm line at 10% power at F600
  • G21
  • G0 X0 Z0
  • G0 X0 Y10
  • G1 X10 S0.1 F600

With this I noticed that the ammeter on my K40 seems to be run quite high relative to power %. With these settings; 10mA / 10%, that line cuts at about ~4mA, at 20% it’s ~5mA. In fact, issuing and monitoring the commands from this post, the ammeter pegs quite high across the board, topping out early on the high end at 70%-100%.