Cohesion3d Compatible with K40 Whisperer?

Hey guys, I’m brand new to the laser world. I have one of the cheap Chinese made K40s and upgraded the board to the cohesion3d and I’m trying to use it with K40 Whisperer and it won’t recognize the laser. I’ve tried uninstalling and re-installing K40 Whisperer several times, including the driver, etc and no luck. Is K40 Whisperer compatible with the Cohesion3d laserboard or do I have to use Lightburn with it???

Hi Ken,

Welcome to the forum! K40 Whisperer is not currently capable of controlling the Cohesion3D LaserBoard. You need a program which can control Smoothieware, like LightBurn. Give it a try. It has a 30 day trial and comes highly recommended.

Thanks Starla, I appreciate it. I’ve downloaded lightburn and it recognized my laser, so that’s a plus. When I tried actually using it though, the laser isn’t firing. It moves around and follows the file that I’ve created but the laser doesn’t work. Is this because it’s a free trial or maybe a setting or something? Thanks!

Hi Ken,

We noticed that you ordered the license for LightBurn. The trial version is fully featured and good for 30 days, so we can wait until this is working before fulfilling the key.

There are a few things which could cause issues with laser firing. We will walk through some scenarios to diagnose the root cause.

Please provide clear pictures of your board, machine, and wiring.

Send some lines as explained here: PWM tuning for Smoothie Firmware such as the G1 X10 S0.8 F600

Try an S value of up to S1.0 (100%).

The head should move while firing. A red LED “Laser Fire Status” in the bottom left corner of the board should turn on.

Tell us exactly what does and does not happen.