Another 80W Generic Controller Replacement

Hi - Just brought a second hand generic 80W Laser and I know it has a terrible controller so I wanted to replace it with a Cohesion3D.

I am new to this but happy to tinker with whatever is required.

I have linked to a set of photos which has hopefully captured all of the different requirements (the inside of the laser is filthy so excuse those photos. I wanted to make sure the Cohesion3D would be a suitable replacement but also if I need the external stepper motor driver - I could only see 1 motor which confused me, I thought there would be 1 for each axis.

Thanks

Mark

Hi Mark, it looks like you’ve got a larger machine than the standard K40 and it has a B1 control board. You will need need to do a bit of configuration and tuning to get things working properly (mostly edits to the config file that the firmware uses) and you’ll need to deal with your 6 pin power connector. There are two articles here that will help:

Thanks for that - very helpful. I will make sure to identify the correct Live and Ground from the 6 pin connection.

The ribbon connector I believe is for the X Axis and end stops - I wonder if it’s worth replacing it - considering taking the machine apart to give it a good clean so would be a good time to sort this out - or do you think I would be in a World of pain :wink:

Sorry I forgot to ask - if that ribbon is connected to both the stepper motor and endstops then I cannot see an external stepper motor driver - does that mean I do not need to buy one and the Cohesion board should be able to drive it?

Typically if there is a ribbon cable it connects to the X motor and the X and Y endstops. You can certainly replace and rewire everything, but if it works, you can also choose to leave it in place.